About The Republic of Ghana

Key Facts

Ghana is located on the West African coast, with a land area of about 239,460 square kilometers and a population of 29 million (53:47 urban rural ratio respectively). It lies in the center of the Gulf of Guinea coast, and shares land borders with three countries: Burkina Faso to the north, Ivory Coast to the west, and Togo to the east. To the south are the Gulf of Guinea and the Atlantic Ocean.

The climate is tropical and warm with diverse vegetation. Rainfall patterns vary but are heaviest in the southwest with an annual average of over 2,000 mm. On the basis of the 1992 constitution, the country practices multiparty democracy and is currently headed by a President, who is aided by a Vice-President. There is a 4-year term presidency and a maximum of 2 terms.

Parliament has 275 seats and a 4-year term. The Supreme Court, headed by the Chief Justice, is at the apex of the Judiciary. The legal system is significantly based on the English Common Law. There are dedicated Commercial Courts where commercial disputes are determined quickly.

Ghana is recognized as one of the most stable African countries, and ranks 7th on the 2012 Ibrahim Index of African Governance. The Country’s major exports are crude oil, gold, diamond, bauxite, cocoa, timber and tropical fruits.

The President, His Excellency Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, whose tenure in office runs from 2017 – 2021, is a Lawyer by profession and Human Rights champion. The Vice-President, Dr. Muhamadu Bawumia, who heads the nation’s Economic Management Team, is an Economist and Banker.